Decision to expel 25 Russian diplomats and staff from Spain


Albares, at a press conference, said that the decision to expel Russian diplomats and embassy personnel should be taken as an indication that Spain rejects Russia’s actions in Ukraine.

Spanish minister, “We are deeply saddened by the unbearable images of the massacre of civilians in the Ukrainian city of Bucha after the withdrawal of the Russian army. Spain demands an immediate investigation of war crimes.” said.

Reminding that Spain, together with 38 countries, applied to the International Criminal Court Prosecutor’s Office to investigate Russian President Vladimir Putin and other people responsible for these crimes, Albares said, “This should not go unpunished and a comprehensive investigation should be carried out.” made its assessment.

Albares noted that the deportation of Russian diplomats and embassy staff “will take place in a matter of days”.

France, Germany, Denmark, Lithuania, Sweden, Italy, Slovakia and Belgium had recently decided to deport many Russian diplomats who were working in their countries.

EU declared some Russian diplomats persona non grata

European Union (EU) High Representative for Foreign Relations and Security Policy Josep Borrell, some Russian diplomats also declared that they acted against their diplomatic status. He said they declared him persona non grata on the grounds.

Borrell, in his statement, reminded that they will continue to advance sanctions as long as Russia’s aggression continues.

Borrell stated that they submitted proposals for Council approval to impose further sanctions for the atrocities committed by the Russian armed forces in Bucha and other places under Russian occupation in Ukraine . He also stated that this includes increasing the bans on the export of certain goods, including petroleum products, prohibiting the import of goods that provide significant income to the state budget, and prohibiting the import of certain fuels, especially coal.

Borrell stated that they banned Russian ships from entering EU ports and added that by expanding the existing sanction lists, they targeted the political world, business sector, propaganda activities, finance, military industry and transportation sectors.

Announcing that 4 Russian banks will be removed from the swift system and that they will be banned from participating in any financial transaction in the EU, Borrell noted that some Russian diplomats were declared persona non grata on the grounds that they violated their diplomatic status.

About admin


Check Also


Biden’s statement on the 1915 events

US President Biden made a written statement regarding the 1915 events. Biden, in his statement, said, "The Ottoman authorities arrested ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.